Ethics Committee welcomes five new members

Geraldine Kendall Adams, 04.01.2017
Committee provides guidance on ethical museum practice
The Museums Association (MA) has appointed five new members to its Ethics Committee.

Three museum professionals joined the committee in December: Neil Curtis, head of museums, University of Aberdeen; Tehmina Goskar, freelance curator, Cornwall; and Diane Walters, consultant and research fellow, University of Exeter.

A further two new members will join the committee in June this year: Victoria Hollows, senior museum manager, Glasgow Museums, and Hannah Crowdy, Interpretation Manager, National Museums Northern Ireland.

The committee members who joined in December replace outgoing members Jane Arthur, Tamsin Russell and Ciara Canning, while Heather Broughton and Rachel Conroy are due to step down from the committee in June.

Made up of a panel of eight museum professionals, the Ethics Committee aims to embed a culture of ethical practice and behaviour in UK museums. It develops and promotes ethical principles, as well as offering confidential advice on specific issues. Occasionally the committee undertakes investigations into possible breaches of the MA’s Code of Ethics.

The MA’s director Sharon Heal said: “I am delighted we will have new members joining the Ethics Committee this year. The committee plays an invaluable role in disseminating ethical good practice and advice and museums need that now more than ever.

“I’d also like to express my gratitude to those members of the committee that are stepping down, after serving for many years between them, for supporting the MA in its review of the Code of Ethics and for providing expert day-to-day ethical guidance for museums across the UK.”