MA Board

The MA Board is the association's governing body. Members come from all parts of of the UK museums community, and are directly elected by the membership. 

The members of the board are directors of a company limited by guarantee and trustees of a charity.

The Board is responsible to the membership of the association for ensuring that the organisation is administered in a way that complies with all legal, financial and other relevant regulations.

It is also responsible to the membership for ensuring that the Association fulfils its aims and objectives.

Board members


30042013-maggie-appletonMaggie Appleton
Chief executive, Royal Air Force Museum

Vice president

03042017-gillian-findlayGillian Findlay
Head of museums and collections, Culture Perth and Kinross


13082018-heather-leesHeather Lees


05042016-alex-bird-boardAlex BirdSector development officer, Museum Development North West

03042017-simon-brownSimon Brown
Curator of collections at Newstead Abbey and project curator, National Justice Museum

Dianna DjokeyDianna Djokey
Communities Curator, John Hansard Gallery

05042016-heledd-fychan-boardHeledd Fychan
Head of policy and public affairs at Amgueddfa Cymru (National Museum Wales)

14072014-paddy-gilmorePaddy Gilmore
Freelance consultant

Steve Miller MA Board(1)Steve Miller
Head of Norfolk Museums Service

04042018-rachel-minott-smallRachael Minott
Inclusion and Change Manager, The National Archives

05042016-dhikshana-preingDhikshana Pering
Head of Learning and Skills, Somerset House Trust

Kim StreetsKim Streets
Chief executive, Museums Sheffield 

Michael Terwey, MA board memberMichael Terwey
Head of heritage services and consultancy, National Trust for Scotland